European Citizen Initiative

A citizens’ initiative has to be proposed by a citizens’ committee composed of at least 7 EU citizens old enough to vote in European Parliament elections  and living in at least 7 different member states. They do not have to be nationals of 7 different member states although they do have to hold the nationality of an EU member state.

This committee is considered as the official “organiser” of the initiative and is responsible for managing the procedure throughout.

The committee must designate from among its members a representative and a substitute to speak and act on their behalf. These will be the contact persons who will liaise between the committee and the Commission throughout the procedure.

Committee of Initiators

Christiaan Alofs (Netherlands, Representative)

Brigitte Van Gerven (Belgium, Substitute)

Klaus Hammermüller (Austria)

Majken Bilslev-Jensen (Denmark)

Tina Michel (Germany)

Graham Caswell (Ireland)

Piotr Podsiadly (Poland)

James Collis (Portugal)

Emilio de las Heras (Spain)

Jonathan Moregard (Sweden)

Technical Contact for this Website

klaus (at) hammermueller (dot) at